Tap into the Power of Choice

You have choice every step of the way, not always about what happens to you, but always about how you respond, who you allow to be in your life, and how much you learn from your experiences and relationships. It’s up to you to decide where your boundaries are and how to assert them in a variety of situations. Self-reflection is up to you as well; ask yourself what you can learn from any given interaction or relationship and you may be surprised at how much wisdom lies waiting for you to uncover.

Choice is a life skill I feel passionately about. I remind myself often that I have the power to choose. When I exercise my right to choose, I deepen my personal strength.

I want to empower you to do the same. When we are aware of our strength to make choices, we can then take the leap to live mindfully, making intentional decisions and thus avoiding the experience of being victimized. You are the driver of your life. Why give anyone else the power to drive for you? Don’t let other people make choices for you.

Are you feeling powerless in some area of your life? Although we cannot control many outside circumstances, we can control how we relate to them. Take a moment to think about what you do have the power to make choices about. Maybe it’s as simple as choosing to slow down for one night this week to get the extra rest you need to handle a difficult time in your life. Or it could be to reach out to a loved one for support. It could also be as big of a choice as ending a relationship or putting your foot down and asking for what you need. Regardless, take charge of your life and be proactive because choice is the catalyst for transformation.

***

“Destiny is not a matter of chance; it is a matter of choice…”
― William Jennings Bryan

“Let others lead small lives, but not you.. Let others argue over small things, but not you.. Let others cry over small hurts, but not you.. Let others leave their future in someone else’s hands, but not you.”
― Jim Rohn

“You have been blessed with immeasurable power to make positive changes in your life.”
― Steve Maraboli

Homework

Make one pro-active decision this week to better yourself or your life.

3 thoughts on “Tap into the Power of Choice

    • adiskin says:

      You are welcome, Anna! Your pledge is inspiring me to do the same! It’s been too long since I’ve written in my gratitude journal. It’s amazing how that small act can make all the difference in my state of mind. Blessings to you and thanks for reading!

      Like

      • Oh, so glad I inspired you! I’ve been feeling a little scattered last few days 😦 and your post reminded me that I always feel and do better when I am grateful for all that I have and AM!
        Blessings…

        Like

Leave a Reply

