Trust, Trekking, and Chilling Out in Edinburgh

Before I departed for this trip, I knew the key theme and perhaps, ultimately, the lesson, would be to trust both myself and the universe. My first night in Europe, sitting on a street corner at a pub in London, I met a girl with a message written on the inside of her left bicep, confirming my intuition was correct about the theme of this journey. Between sips of cider and enthusiastic conversation, I glanced over at the same moment Sabina lifted her arm to tuck her hair behind her neck, and saw a beautifully intricate tattoo of the word ‘Trust’. I was so thrilled with the synchronicity that I told her about the theme of the trip. Her reply was deeply validating: ‘ah yes, you must always trust.Everything is going to be alright!’ I feel both the gift and the challenge of trusting as I continue on well outside of my comfort zone.

 

switching topics, I have newfound respect and compassion for travelers and anyone who has to trek up cobblestone hills or miles of stairs with all their crap on their back. I had to have that compassion for myself today as I was completely worn out trying to find my hostel and finally arrived red-faced and sweating, desperate to get my pack off my shoulders. l arrived in Edinburgh, Scotland with a hangover and lack of sleep. I got lost multiple times, climbed several uneven hills unnecessarily, and got tripped up weaving through a crowd of drunk tourists but with perseverance and the reminder that ‘you are doing the best you can under the circumstances,’ I made it and promptly zonked out for a well- earned nap.

 

 It has been raining on and off tonight and i am cozied up in the hostel lounge surrounded in interesting travelers from all over the world. I am aware that I am alone, but it is comforting to be around others who are also far from home. I have heard at least six languages being spoken as i write this entry. So cool! Next stop: pittenweem, a smallfishing village on the Fife Coast. I will be couchsurfing with a couple from New Zealand…and they happen to be blues dancers! Yay! 😀

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Trust, Trekking, and Chilling Out in Edinburgh

  1. Naomi Jensen says:

    It is so wonderful to hear of your travels. Thank you for bringing us along with you.
    I am reminded that we are young and there is so much of the world to see. I trust there are years for me to travel more as well.
    Bon voyage,
    Naomi

    Like

    • adiskin says:

      yes we are young, and there is also time. Trust your instincts and you will know when it’s time to go. Love you Naomi!

      Like

  2. KC says:

    Hi,

    My name is KC Owens; I’m a college student who loves to travel! While cruising the Internet, I found The Wisdom Shop and really enjoyed reading your posts. Personally, I think traveling is a necessary part of life as you’re exposed to all sorts of new cultures and experiences. While enjoying time abroad, I’ve found it’s crucial to fully understand the dangers that you might encounter along the way. These mishaps are part of life and certainly part of travel but it’s always a great idea to take preventive measures to help ensure your safety while abroad.

    I was hoping that you would allow me to write a post for your site to share my travel safety tips with your readers? I put a lot of time and passion into my traveling and I would love to help others by offering safety advice as a result of the mistakes and triumphs I’ve had. I look forward to hearing from you!

    Best,

    KC Owens

    Like

    • adiskin says:

      Hi KC, I am glad you are enjoying my blog. At this point, I am using the blog as a personal space to reflect and share so I am not interested in having guest authors. Thank you for your interest and I am sure there is a blog or magazine that your article on safety will be a great fit for. All the best to you!

      Like

Leave a Reply

