Leaves of Memory

I reach into the pool of thoughts

and withdraw a crumpled leaf.

Its veins shine with wisdom and

the memory of a moment returns to me.

Then another leaf, crumpled and dry,

its prime already passed.

I turn each leaf over,

and feel a mixture of warmth and longing.

At last, I decide to let them scatter, knowing they’ll

serve me better being freed.

But there will always be more to come;

as these leaves are the moments of a lifetime,

and I am the tree.

dscf0178.jpg

3 thoughts on “Leaves of Memory

Leave a Reply

